VoiceOver users please use the tab key when navigating expanded menus

Changes to ANZ Trustees Board (PDF 20kB)

ANZ Trustees today announced the appointment of a new Chairman and two new Executive Directors, following Bruce Bonyhady’s decision to leave after eight years as Chairman. 

Cheryl Bart AO has been appointed Chairman of ANZ Trustees’ Board, having been with the Board as a Non-Executive Director since 2006.


Rob Goudswaard, Head of Risk in ANZ’s Institutional Division and Stephen Hill, who is Senior Financial Controller also in ANZ’s Institutional Division will join the Board as Executive Directors following the retirement of Lawrie Willett AO and David Ward at the end of the month.


Ms Bart is a lawyer and Chairman of the South Australian Film Corporation, Adelaide Film Festival, Environment Protection Authority and Shaw of Australia. She is also the Deputy Chairman of the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation (AER) Foundation and is a Non-Executive Director on the boards of Spark Infrastructure Ltd and ETSA Utilities.


ANZ Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Graham Hodges said: “We are delighted to have Cheryl Bart as Chairman. She brings a depth of experience in business, governance and philanthropy and has made a valuable contribution to the Board since she joined three years ago.”


Commenting on the Executive Director appointments, Mr Hodges added: “Both Rob and Stephen have great strengths in risk management, governance and financial management as well as charitable foundation knowledge, and will be tremendous assets to the Board.


“We would like to acknowledge the significant contribution Bruce Bonyhady has made to ANZ Trustees over the past nine years and thank Lawrie and David for their valued input to the Board. We wish them all the best in their future pursuits,” he said.


Mr Hodges said these changes meant the ANZ Trustees’ Board would now consist of a majority of Executive Directors and a Non-Executive Chair and would be consistent with the Board composition of all other ANZ subsidiary companies.


The ANZ Trustees’ Board is also comprised of Executive Directors Catherine McDowell, Managing Director ANZ Private Bank, Geoff Cohen, ANZ Managing Director Investments and Insurance and Roberto Scenna, Managing Director ANZ Trustees.


The changes to the ANZ Trustees’ Board will take effect from 30 September 2009.


View PDF

Related Articles